What is Action Research?

Okay, so I’ve read a bit about, on and around the topic in assigned and surfed resources, but I keep thinking it seems suspiciously close to service learning. I mean, Thomas Deans uses some of the same language: some degree of risk, partnership, collaboration, participatory democracy, critical consciousness, competencies, reflection, learning from each other. About the only thing that doesn’t explicitly overlap is the way each community talks about the creation of knowledge. What if I were to start from here. What if, I began on the premise that what I am learning about service learning applies to action research and vice versa. Would it reduce my trepidation and haze?

Leave a Reply

