God Uses Hangers

What if infinite supply were as simple as they say? Some have asserted that everything we need we already have and we have simply to recognize it. A lesson from the closet: This morning, after arriving at an idea interesting enough to get out of bed for, that is to say, conceiving an idea compelling enough to rival the softness of the t-shirt flannel of my sheets and the feeling of physical exhaustion not yet abated after more than 10 hours horizontal, I begin my leg extensions and invisible punching bag aerobics on my back, roll onto the floor and into the plank position, say the Lord’s Prayer and head for the bathroom, then the kitchen.
Vocal warm ups begin, predictably, in the raspy lounge singer range, as I attempt a rousing chorus from Jesus, What a Wonderful Child. I resort to humming as I feed Mr. Rogers, the inherited Betta I began the night beside in order to have some company while I slept. Funny, the things we do that are opaque until later. At least choosing the couch was a less costly option than say choosing a spouse.
Once again, Mr. S.P. Rogers, flutters his tail at me in what I presume he has been biologically conditioned to consider (if fish may consider) a threatening way, and misses the point that his food grains have been scattered above him and slightly behind until I walk in a direction that will draw his attention thereto. After feeding him, I rinse and put in the dishwasher the empty containers that have been in the sink for at least 48 hours and have finally caught my attention.
I go into all this grueling detail to illustrate my point, at least five of them, and refer you to an essay on Og Mandino’s take on procrastination. A spiritual take on the theme actually. These small details are taken care of in an effort to avoid, in my case, addressing the BIG IDEA which is, in the grander scale of things, itself a small detail.
Though the ten-minute commitment to write was satisfied four minutes ago I will simply say this. In order to wake up, and before getting to my formal prayers – the official start to each day, and delaying what I now admit is an unavoidable trip to the gym – I now putter. In decades past I simply decided to wake up and get about the day’s business. I wish students would make decisions as swiftly as I used to. But that’s a subject for another practice writing session.
The foregoing being point five, I’ll get to the gist of points four through one in more concise fashion.
4: Infinite supply may be seen in the closet experience many, though not all, of us have had. I have two things to hang up and one available hanger so I consolidate a velour sweat suit onto one hanger and free up a second hanger for today’s need. The supply was already there. I simply had to notice and employ it. I’d wager this law also works when mortgage payments are due or a peace treaty needs to be negotiated.
3. The idea that got me out of bed – a way to combine and publish service learning activities for my roles as grad student, college worker / writing instructor, and community advocate / LVAC member – is not likely to be the reason God got me out of bed.
2. God laughs. After all, at this point in history, after the Flood, the warnings of the weeping prophet among others, and in the context of the HIV/AIDS pandemic, there is little point in holding one’s Holy Breath. Very few are likely to see You turn blue, though many of us do rise each morning to watch what You do next.
1. I share the laughter and, perhaps like God, daily begin again.
How do you get out of bed?

Leave a Reply

